A Challenging Day

Ellie Jacobson
2 min readJan 28, 2021
Photo by Taylor Van Riper on Unsplash

The day was January 28, 1986. I was a twelve-year-old in 8th grade. The day fell on my best friend’s 13th birthday. I was jealous of her special day falling on a historic day. And to top it off, I was sick at home. More jealousy weaved through my veins as I knew my friends got to watch the launch. It was a special day when the television was rolled out. We had been following the adventures of the first teacher in space, Christa McAuliffe. I couldn’t imagine how she and her family felt that morning. I wanted a mom astronaut.

The flu bug left me home alone while my mom was at work. I bolted out of my bed in a haze when I realized it was time for the live launch. I turned the television on, praying I hadn’t missed the big moment. I was late by mere minutes. I couldn’t sit. I stood a foot away analyzing the screen.

I wondered why the faces in the crowd looked confused and sad. The view switches to Christa’s parents, embracing each other as they studied the smoke-filled sky.

I wasn’t listening to the anchor’s words. I focused on the replay of the launch, a plume of smoke, like a large snake trying to attack the rocket. I knew from watching previous launches the boosters fell off as they left our atmosphere, but I didn’t recall this much smoke.

The camera spans the crowd to Christa’s students. My expression mirrored their confusion.

--

--

Ellie Jacobson

Editor at Flash Fiction Magazine & Intrepidus Ink | Flint & Steel editor | MFA candidate working on first novel | mom to 2 kitties, 2 teenage sons & many cats